Your goals with C# and the software development

Editor
Feb 23, 2013 at 9:30 AM
Hello Everybody,

I have been studying c# for two months. Also in my spare time. I am working not in the IT area but my long term goal is to get a software developer job in the future.
I have several friends who are working as software developer. As Matt described the SMARTER goals I decided to join to this group.

But I have several strugglings with the IT sector:

1 - It is a very-very wide area. It is impossible to learn everything in your spare time.

2 - My opinion is that the key is a basic math knowledge (mainly logic), practice, practice and more practice.

3 - But the problem is with the practice is the time factor. A lot of us are working as not as a software developer. Therefore the time factor is very crucial for us. I would like to practice on real problems, what is good for later for get a software developer job.

4 - The open source projects are helpful. This can give us a lot of confidence and networking skills.

5 - Networking skills are the most important in the live. There are tons of software developers who want to get hired. A lot of them have degrees in CS and are in a pursuing career.

6 -There is a articles from Peter Norvig from the 10000 hours rule. http://norvig.com/21-days.html You have to read it. And we are again at the problem of the time factor. You can improve significantly your programming skills when you are working as a sotware developer. Than you can study not 10-20 hours / week but 40-60 hours per week.

7 - Thus my goal is gain practical knowledge to be get hired. If you are in my situation please check this site. It is helpful

http://www.rhyous.com/2011/07/27/how-to-get-a-job-in-software-development-in-as-little-as-6-months/